Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Trego Show

Trego Show
Learning the lyrics to the song she will perform on March 7, Grace’ Glatz works to perfect her performance.

The TCHS Choir will present Trego Show on Tuesday, March 7 at 7:00 p.m.  This is an annual event in which students pick songs to perform. 

 Performances will be done by the Girls’ Ensemble who will sing “Fight Song,” and the Trego Singers will perform a medley of songs from the 70's.

 The seniors will also perform a selection, and other solos, duets, and small groups will sing a variety of country and pop tunes.

The TCHS Choir will close by singing “Sweet Caroline” and a Bon Jovi medley. 

The choir would like to invite everyone to come enjoy this yearly event.  There is no admission charge.






Two receive All Academic Team

All Academic

Cheyenne Nickelson and Kacie Dunn proudly show their All Academic Team certificates.   They were honored for maintaining a 3.85 GPA and participating in 12 or more KSHSAA activities.


Meet Trevor DePriest

Trevor DePriest
Fighting to stay ahead of his opponent, Trevor DePriest earns a win at one of the wrestling tournaments this season.

By Michael Knight
Beginning his last days of high school, Trevor DePriest plans to attend FHSU next year to “study something exciting.” However, he is “having as much fun as [he] can” because he wants to get the most out of the time he has left as a high school senior.

Before he heads off to college, DePriest thought about how high school has impacted his life and reflected, “It has made me be a lot more responsible.”

DePriest, looking back at all the classes over the last four years, stated, “Life time sports is my favorite class; it is lots of fun.” English, however, was always a struggle for Depriest since he could never develop an interest in reading or writing.

Reflecting on his high school career, DePriest contemplated what he would have done differently, saying, “I would have tried harder and played football.” Not wanting the underclassmen to make the same mistakes, he gave them the advice to “do your best and always give 110%.”


FCCLA week

By Gracie Hickson
February 6-14 was National FCCLA week at Trego Community High school. The school recognized it by dressing up each day that week.

The TCHS students came to school on Monday wearing their pajamas. Then on Tuesday students went from lazy to fancy on dress your best day.

In the spirit of Valentine’s Day Wednesday was red out/fccla shirt day. Thursday students participated by wearing hats to school. On Friday students showed school spirit by wearing school colors on purple and gold day.

Points were awarded to members who participated. Members that earn the highest points can attend State meeting in April.


Student Council provides students with a break

Student Council BBQ
Playing four-square, senior Alex Haxton and junior Blake Spencer enjoy a break from their usual class during the Student Council BBQ on February 15.
By Emarie Schoenthaler
Trego Community High School Student Council hosted its annual student barbecue and activities day on February 15.

The purpose behind the BBQ is to allow students from all classes to get together for a small break from the academic schedule and for a chance to bond. "Sometimes January and February seem like a very long and dreary time, so the students appreciate and enjoy the small reprieve from the daily grind," stated Nora Schoenthaler, a Student Council sponsor.

The usual lunch schedule was ignored on this day, and students reported by class, starting with the seniors.  This gave the students an opportunity to eat and visit with people they usually don't get to see.

While the students enjoy the lunch, many find the activities to be the best part of the event. As students finished eating, they went to the gym and participated in activities such as basketball, dodgeball, ping pong, and four-square.

Many students declared, "It's like having recess again!"

At the end of the lunch hour, students returned to their classes hopefully feeling a bit more ready to face the normal academic challenges.



Student Council sponsors food drive

By Emarie Schoenthaler
During the week of February 13, the Trego Student Council sponsored a food drive for the local Food Pantry.

Each class brought items to come out on top in a class competition. Sophomores brought the most, earning themselves a pizza party. Seniors and freshman were tied for second, each class getting extra credit from teacher of their choice.

Over 200 items were collected throughout the week.


Forensics hosts home meet

Home Forensics
Needing to find a time and place for the 85 students who attended, Nan Brown diligently prepares a spread sheet to help organize the Trego forensics meet.

By Julian Coker
Thirteen schools attended our home forensics meet on Saturday, February 11. Since Trego hosted, they were not allowed to compete but instead were busy making sure everything ran smoothly.

Preparing for such an event takes a lot. The first step is to get other schools to commit to the meet. A week before the meet, Nan Brown asked coaches to send the numbers of entries per event. For Trego’s meet, schools were only allowed to have 18 entries.

From there, she assigned each school and code and began preparing a spread sheet that shows which students will participate in which event. The spread sheet took about 5 to 6 hours to create.

Then, Brown prepared the judging pool and made sure that school judges won’t judge their own student. In addition, she had to find rooms throughout the school for students to perform, get the hospitality room organized, and make sure the schools have the ballots they need. One important task is taking care of the tab room where all of the scores that determine who wins each round are brought.

All-in-all, it took about two weeks to prepare. The week of and the night before the meet were really what took all of the forensics team’s time, energy, and effort.
Brown commented, “By having Forensics as a class, my students were able to put ballots together, make signs, get rooms prepared, and help in areas that were needed. The class worked hard all week getting ready for the meet and handling little odd jobs, even some big jobs to make our meet a success.”

A challenge while setting up the meet was putting the teams in a grid, finding judges to work the meet, and then making sure the meet ran as smoothly as possible.

When the meet was finally over, many forensics students admitted they were “exhausted.”  However, all the hard work paid off because the meet was a huge success.



Minutes 1/9
Trego Show
All Academic
Student Break
Food Drive
Boys' Basketball 2/17
Girls' Basketball 2/17
Girls' Basketball 2/14
Wrestling 2/9

TCHS Media Team
This website is designed and maintained by TCHS students.

Kelby Aschenbrenner
Kassidy Chase
Julian Coker
Helen Giefer
Alyssa Hafliger
Gracie Hickson
Cambrie Kemp
Michael Knight
Emarie Schoenthaler
Web Designers

Sam Graham
Robert Clark