TCHS wrestlers add weight in medals

Looking to the coaches for instruction, Colby Burkhart keeps his sights on another victory on February 2.

By James Opat
The TCHS wrestling team had a successful meet at Leoti’s round robin on February 2, with 8 wrestlers bringing home medals.

Dalton Hendrix brought home his first gold medal by pinning all three of his opponents: Perla Yanez of St. Francis, Brody Kaup of Goodland, and Nathan Reimer of Lakin. Dillion Dunn also got first by pinning all of his opponents: Seth Hilt of St. Francis, Juan Mancillas of Leoti, Arturo Ellis of Cimarron, and Derek Bogner of Cimarron.

Getting second for the team were Brady Mattke, Blake Spencer, and Colby Burkhart. Mattke started with a bye but quickly pinned both Erick Moreno of Lakin and  Chris Inguanza of Cimarron. Unfortunately, he fell to Logan Gugelmeyer of Lakin in the first place match. Teammate Blake Spencer also brought home silver by pinning Keifer Smith of Goodland and Dawsan Aller of Lakin, but fell in his last match. In addition, Colby Burkhart brought home second by defeating his first three opponents: Ambrose Shaughnessy of Cimarron, Yoni Castillo of Leoti, and  Christina Alvarez of Goodland, but Burkhart lost the first place match by decision to  Reese Garetson of Sublette.

Jory Micek brought home third in the 170 weight class by a pin and an 8-2 decision.

Toby Lowry and Sydney Boyle also brought home medals by placing fourth.