Trego Wrestlers show their strength

Wrestling 12/7
Literally going head to head with his Stockton opponant, Dawson Arnold goes for the takedown.

By Madison Hafliger
The TCHS wrestlers had a strong showing at the Railer Round Robin in Ellis on December 7.

In the 285 weight division, Parker Opat won his first four matches by a fall over Camden Waters of Beloit, Chris Inguanza of Cimarron, Zach Dittert of Hillsboro, and Hunter Marsh of Council Grove. Taking himself all the way to the first place match, Opat won by decision over Riley Philbern of Hoisington and earned first place and 22.5 team points.

In the 220 weight division, Dillon Dunn walked off the matt with a second place medal.  He made quick work of his first two opponents, pinning Bryce Shelor of Hoisington and Sam Princ of Lincoln. Making it into the quarterfinals, he won by a tech fall over Kenton Myers of Lincoln. Going into the semifinals, Dunn won in a 5-0 decision over Preston Gilbert of Council Grove.  Unfortunately, Dunn was defeated by Creighton Johnson of Beloit by decision in the first place match.

Teammate Colby Burkhart wrestled his way to third place in the 170 weight class. Burkhart won by decision over Kyler Henry during round two. In round three Burkhart won by a tech fall over Nicholas Long of Hoisington. During the quarterfinal, he won with another tech fall against Ethan Criage of Council Grove. Making it to the semifinals, he was beat by Ambrose Shaughnessy of Cimmaron in a 2-6 decision. However, Burkhart went on to pin his final opponent, Austin Rempel of Hillsboro ending with a 4-1 record on the day and 20.5 team points.

Freshman Tanner Sells also placed third by pinning his first three adversaries, Gabe Hipp of Hoisington, Jace Hartman of Stockton, and Michale Pritchet of Ellis.  He fell to Adam McPhail of Cimarron, but came back to win by decision over Colton Bacon of Council Grove.

Other team members who placed and earned team points were Eli Reling, James Opat, Gavin Garza, Hayden Opat, Garrett Kuhn, Dawson Arnold, and T.J. Hafliger, who was unfortunately injured during his final match.