Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Sybil Giefer
The Trego track team travelled to Hill City on Monday, April 23, to face tough competition.

The girls’ team got second overall, second only to Norton.

Helen Giefer dominated the distance events with a first place in both the 3200 meter and the 1600 meter and a second place finish in the 800 meter. Her time for the 3200 was 11:45, her 1600 was 5:25, and her 800 was 2:28. Giefer brought 28 points for the team single-handedly.

In addition to those events, Giefer, along with Adrianne Carr, Libby Frost, and Sybil Giefer, completed the 4x800 meter relay in a time of 10:18. Sybil Giefer also finished sixth in the 1600 with a 5:56 and second in the 3200 with a 12:50.

Additionally, Lili Shubert finished second with  a 17.80 in the 100 meter hurdles, and Emma Day was close behind with an 18.84 and a fifth place finish. Shubert also placed fourth in pole vault with a vault of 8’6”, and Day jumped 4’6” for a fifth place finish in high jump.

The girls’ 4x400 meter relay, consisting of Carr, Jenna Howard, Sydney Boyle, and Frost, ran a 4:40 and ran across the line in fifth place. Carr, Day, Shubert, and Frost comprised the girls’ 4x100 meter relay and ran a 56.94 to get sixth place.

The boys’ team placed third overall.

On the boys’ side, Hunter Price showed off his talent, placing first in the 110 with a 16.68 and a 43.62 in the 300 meter hurdles, and third in the triple jump with a jump of 40’2.5”. Cooper Desormiers also ran the 110 hurdles, finishing third with a time of 17.52, and the 300 meter hurdles with a time of 46.69 and fifth place.

Wyndom Giefer placed third in the 1600 with a time of 5:11, and was closely followed by his brother, Bernard Giefer, who ran a 5:18. Wyndom Giefer also ran an 11:00 for his 3200, and achieved a first place medal. Bernard Giefer ran an 11:18 and got third place, and Willy Barney ran into fourth with an 11:41.

The boys’ 4x800 finished in fifth with a 9:50. The boys who ran were Wyndom Giefer, Willy Barney, Kobi Shubert, and Colby Burkhart.